RefWorks Help

About RefWorks

RefWorks is an online citation management tool that allows you to import and arrange citations, then use those citations to format a bibliography in any number of citation styles (MLA, APA, etc.). This product is available to members of the Binghamton University community through a subscription of the Binghamton University Libraries. For questions, Ask a Librarian.

TOP


Getting an Account

Current Binghamton students, faculty, and staff can sign up for a RefWorks account by accessing Refworks from the Research Help tab of the Libraries' web page. Then click on “Sign up for an individual account.” Users need to be on a campus computer (and not logged in through a wireless connection) when they create an account; once the account is created, RefWorks may be used from off-campus.

TOP


Group Code

If are being prompted from a group code when using RefWorks, this is likely for two reasons:

1. You created your account while off campus, or through the proxy server. Solution: Create a new account while on campus and not logged in using the proxy server or SSL server.

If this does not apply to you, then:

2. There is a problem with the Libraries' proxy server. Solution: Try to access other library resources to determine if the problem is limited to just Refworks, or if it is affecting all of the Libraries' off-campus access. You can also try to emptying your browsers history and cache, or switch browsers.

If you are still having problems, please report the error using the Technical Problems Reporting Form.

Sometimes, connecting through the SSL server may still be possible, depending on where the problem is occurring.

TOP


Importing References

Many databases allow you to directly export citations into Refworks. Every database is slightly different, but in general, first add your citations to a folder or marked list within the database. Then open the folder, select the items, and follow the instructions to export to RefWorks.

If you are unsure of how to import references from a given database, RefWorks provides detailed vendor and database-specific instructions on how to import citations via their Help.

It is always possible to add a citation manually into RefWorks by selecting References > Add New Reference.

Citations can also be imported from the link at the bottom of the getit@button logo menu.

TOP


Folders in RefWorks

All citations are automatically, temporarily imported into the “Last Imported Folder” in RefWorks. You can create new folders to organize citations. It is advisable to move items out of the “Last Imported Folder” into folders of your choice. On your next import, items in the “Last Imported Folder” can be found in References > View > References Not in a Folder, if they have not already been moved into a personal folder.

TOP


In-text Citations & Bibliographies

How do I generate a paper with in-text citations and a bibliography? There are two ways to do this – the Write-N-Cite method and the One line/Cite View method, which can be used if you can not download the Write-n-Cite plug in, or if you are not using MS Word.

Binghamton University librarians have created short online tutorials that detail these methods.

Write-N-Cite

This method requires a free software plug-in for MS Word (for Mac or Windows) that is available from RefWorks under the Tools menu. You can also download the plug-in to your personal computer, following the Downloading Write-N-Cite instructions given below.

Open up both your word processing program and the Write-N-Cite plug-in. Even if you are already logged into RefWorks, you may be asked to log in to Write-N-Cite again. In your paper, place your cursor where you want to add the in-text citation. With Write-N-Cite open, click on the word "Cite" to the left of the citation you would like to cite. The RefWorks citation will appear in your paper – {{12 Nystrom,Elsa A. 2002; }}. If you need two or more citations in a given reference, place the cursor to the right of the semi-colon and add the citation as usual. Move back and forth between your paper and Write-N-Cite adding your in-text citations as appropriate.

When you finished adding citations, save your document, go back to Write-N-Cite and click on "Bibliography" in the menu. Choose your output style (i.e. APA, MLA) from the drop-down menu. Select “Create Bibliography.” This will open a new document that has the word "Final" in the name. Be sure to check the the in-text references and bibliography for errors on the final draft. If there were errors in the citations in your RefWorks database, they will be reflected in your citations. For example, some databases export author names in the wrong order. Another common error involves page numbers that may not display properly. In particular, you may want to pay close attention to details like the punctuation, spacing, and capitalization of your references.

Saving the initial draft which contains the Refwoks citations - {{12 Nystrom,Elsa A. 2002; }} - is recommended. If at a later date, you decided that you need to add more citations in your paper, change the citation style, or do other major changes and it is easier to reformat the entire citation list, you will need this draft to work from.

One line/Cite View

The second method does not require software plug-ins, and can be used with any word processing program. While you can add a citation to your document from any screen in RefWorks, if you have a large group of reference to add, it can be fastest to work from within the specific folder, using the "One Line/Cite View" under "Change View."

Make sure your cursor is placed where the citation will be located in your paper. Go to RefWorks, find the citation you wish to add, and click on the citation icon Refworks cite logo that is to the right of the citation. A new window will open, called the "Citation Viewer." Copy and paste the citation that appears in this window into the appropriate place in your paper. Be sure to select the "Clear" button after adding the citation. Continue until you have finished adding all your references.If you need two or more citations in a given reference, place the cursor to the right of the semi-colon and add the citation as usual. Remember to save your document. Save the document when you are done.

Back in RefWorks, click on "Bibliography" in the menu. Select “Format your Paper and Bibliography.” Choose your output style (i.e. APA, MLA) from the drop-down menu. Browse for your saved document and then “Create Bibliography.” This will open a new document that has the word "Final" in the name.

Be sure to check the the in-text references and bibliography for errors on the final draft. If there were errors in the citations in your RefWorks database, they will be reflected in your citations. For example, some databases export author names in the wrong order. Another common error involves page numbers that may not display properly. In particular, you may want to pay close attention to details like the punctuation, spacing, and capitalization of your references.

Saving the initial draft which contains the Refwoks citations - {{12 Nystrom,Elsa A. 2002; }} - is recommended. If at a later date, you decided that you need to add more citations in your paper, change the citation style, or do other major changes and it is easier to reformat the entire citation list, you will need this draft to work from.

What if I want is a bibliography? Select "Bibliography" from the RefWorks menu. Choose “Format a Bibliography from a List of References.” You can then select the file type and what references to include. Once you have made your selections, click “Create Bibliography.”

 

TOP


Downloading Write-N-Cite

For RefWorks users who are using MS Word on a personal computer, Write-N-CIte can be downloaded for personal use. RefWorks offers different versions of Write-N-Cite, depending on what MS Word version and operating system you are running, so be sure to look at the compatibility requirements before you download.

For a PC

1. Download Write-N-Cite: https://www.refworks.com/Refworks/WNCDownload.asp or, if already logged into RefWorks, go to the Menu, choose "Tools," then select "Write-N-Cite." Select the proper version of Write-N_Cite to download and begin the download process.

2. From your computers' Start Menu select "Programs" and then "RefWorks."

3. Select the "WNC Proxy Configuration Utility" 

4. Enter the following URL: http://proxy.binghamton.edu/login?url=https://www.refworks.com/Refworks/?WNC=true

5. Click "Ok."

For a Mac

1. Download Write-N-Cite by going to: https://www.refworks.com/Refworks/WNCDownload.asp or, if if already logged into RefWorks, go to the Menu, choose "Tools," then select "Write-N-Cite." Select the proper version of Write-N_Cite to download and begin the download process.

2. On the Write-N-Cite menu, select " Preferences."

3. Select the "Proxy" option and enter the following URL:   http://proxy.binghamton.edu/login?url=https://www.refworks.com/Refworks/?WNC=true

 

Write-N-Cite works for Windows 7 and Word 2010, however, it does not integrate fully into the ribbon feature of Word at this time.

TOP


Get Help

There is a variety of ways to receive help using RefWorks:

TOP


Exporting from EndNote

RefWorks offers detailed instructions on how to export records from EndNote to RefWorks.

TOP


Retain Access to Your Citations

If you leave Binghamton University, you can export and save your records in a number of formats. Navigate to References > Export. If you establish a RefWorks account elsewhere, you can call RefWorks and they will help you move your current BU account into your new account.

TOP