Citations often reference the abbreviated form of a journal title. For example, the citation Constans, J. et al. Am. J. phys. Anthropol. 68, 107−122 (1985) uses the abbreviation Am. J. phys. Anthropol for the American Journal of Physical Anthropology.
The following electronic and print resources will help decipher journal abbreviations. For additional assistance with locating journal articles, please contact a librarian.
Enter the journal abbreviation into the keyword search box. Note - this will only work for selected journals owned by the library.
Electronic Journal Holdings
Enter the journal abbreviation into the title begins with search box. Note - this will only work for selected journals owned by the library.
Periodical Title Abbreviations
Main Library Reference--Z6945.A2P47-NON-CIRCULATING
*SHELVED WITH PUBLISHERS DIRECTORIES
Science Library Permanent Reserves - Z6945.A2 P47--1-HOUR RESERVE
World List of Scientific Periodicals Published in the Years 1900-1960.
Science Library Reference (Bibliographies) -- Z7403 .W923
Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index
Science Library Permanent Reserves (Oversize)(*) -- Z5523 .A52 -- 1-HOUR RESERVE
A National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Allows you to search by journal abbreviation.
All That JAS
A registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations.
OCLC’s catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Allows you to search by journal abbreviation.
Index Medicus Journal Abbreviations (pdf)
The National Library of Medicine’s database of indexed journal citations and abstracts published in the United States and more than 70 other countries. Covers primarily biomedicine, health, and life sciences.
Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information. The CISTI catalogue allows you to search the CISTI collection by journal abbreviation. Covers science, technology, engineering and medicine.
Biological Journals And Abbreviations
Organized in abbreviation order.
Mathematical Reviews' Abbreviations of Names of Serials
This covers all journals indexed by the Mathematical Reviews Database since 1985.