Google Scholar is a search engine that finds scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Documents are collected from a variety of sources including academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and the web.
Google Scholar covers all subject areas although it appears to be strongest in science, technology and medicine.
It is recommended that you access Google Scholar through the Libraries' gateway to databases and electronic resources. This will allow you to use the Get it @ BU button to locate full-text articles (electronic or print) that the library owns through its subscriptions. You can also use the Get it @ BU service through Google Scholar preferences. To do this, click on the Settings link and then "Library Links". Search for Binghamton University.
You can search Google Scholar the same way as you would search Google. Simply type your topic into the box and click search. Google Scholar also has an advanced searched function that allows you to refine your search by author, publication or date.
Get it @ BU: Get it @ BU is a tool that allows you to find full-text journal articles or infolink (library catalog) records. When you find an article you want, click on the Get it @ BU link. The Get it @ BU screen will provide you with one of three options: link to the full-text document, locate the document in the library catalog, or request the document using Illiad Interlibrary Loan).
Cited By: The “cited by” search generates a list of documents that cite the article. This list may not be complete. The database Web of Science is a better resource for finding all documents that cite your article.
Web Search: The web search will launch a Google search.
You may also see links to the article under the citation. These links may take you to the article (if it’s available for free) or to the publisher’s web site.
Only articles that are freely available on the internet are available full-text in Google Scholar. If the article is not free, you may be given the option to purchase the article from the publisher (often for a hefty price). REMEMBER, as a Binghamton University affiliate you can get free access to articles, either through library journal subscriptions or through Illiad Interlibrary Loan. Please contact a librarian if you need assistance in locating any articles from Google Scholar.
Go to Scholar Preferences and then scroll down to "Bibliography Manager". Click in the radio button next to "Show links to import into"and select RefWorks. Save your preferences.
You should now see an "Import into Refworks" link under your citations. Additional Refworks assistance is available on the Libraries' Refwork's login page.
If you’re not finding enough information in Google Scholar, try searching one of the library’s databases. You can access the databases though the metaLINK link on the library homepage. As always, please feel free to contact a librarian for assistance.