Science Library Blog

February 05, 2008

New Web of Science Interface

webofscience1.jpg

The next time you open Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge) you may notice something different: a new search interface and design. Here are some highlights…

~ a new tabular search screen that enables you to search across multiple databases and easily access analytical and administrative tools.

~ the option to add more boxes to build your search.

~ new search aids.

~ the ability to analyze and refine searches from the results page.

Interested in finding out more? Click here to access free, web-based training classes on the new design OR contact a librarian at Binghamton University Libraries.

Posted by erushton at 02:25 PM

September 27, 2007

GetIt@BU Now Available in Scirus

You can now link directly to full text articles available at Binghamton University Libraries using Scirus, a free, comprehensive science-specific search engine.

To set up access, complete the following steps:

1. Go to Search Preferences

2. Click Enable Library Partner Links and select Binghamton University Libraries (under B)

scirusfind.png

3. Click Save Preferences button

4. The next time you search Scirus you should see the “Getit@BU” icon next to the article citations.
scirusbulogo.png

Posted by erushton at 12:10 PM

August 14, 2007

Database of Genotype and Phenotype (dbGaP)

dbGaP_logo.jpg

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) recently launched dbGaP, a new database designed to archive and distribute data from genome wide association (GWA) studies. According to the database description, "GWA studies explore the association between specific genes (genotype information) and observable traits, such as blood pressure and weight, or the presence or absence of a disease or condition (phenotype information). Connecting phenotype and genotype data provides information about the genes that may be involved in a disease process or condition, which can be critical for better understanding the disease and for developing new diagnostic methods and treatments."

Click here to access the database.

Posted by erushton at 04:13 PM

July 03, 2007

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering & Computer Science

We now have access to the Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering & Computer Science published by Morgan & Claypool. This is a collection of electronic books that "synthesize important research or development topics" in the fields of computer science & engineering. These books could serve as good starting points for students or researchers wanting to get some background information about or to become familiar with a particular area of research.

Synthesis is available in metaLINK under the various engineering subject areas.

For further information, please contact Alesia McManus

Posted by amcmanus at 10:12 AM

April 13, 2007

IT books available via Safari Books Online

We now have access to 91 electronic books through Safari Books Online http://proquest.safaribooksonline.com/

Safari Books Online has the full text of Information technology (IT) books from O’Reilly, Sams and other publishers. To browse a list of these books, select My Content as a search selection. The full text of the each book including code fragments is searchable. We purchased access for 2 simultaneous users.

The books are also cataloged and accessible in our online catalog, infoLINK.

Posted by amcmanus at 04:00 PM

March 20, 2007

ScienceDirect Alerts

sdlogo.gif

As a registered user of ScienceDirect you can set up several types of alerts. ScienceDirect registration is free.

*Citation alerts
Allows you to track whenever a chosen article is cited. You can set up a citation alert whenever you’re reading a full-text article by clicking on Save as Citation Alert.

*Volume/ Issue alerts
Provides the latest table of contents for any journal or book on ScienceDirect. You’ll be alerted as soon as a new issue is published.

*Topic alerts
Allows you to keep abreast of the latest trends in your chosen areas of interest. You can set up alerts in any category or sub-specialty and receive regular updates of the latest research.

Posted by erushton at 04:00 PM

February 15, 2007

CINDAS Database now available

The Libraries is happy to announce that access to the CINDAS Microelectronics Packaging Materials Database is now available.

The database contains data on thermal, mechanical, electrical and physical properties of electronics packaging materials. Over 750 materials and over 15,000 data curves were developed under the sponsorship of the Semiconductor Research Corporation. Data is searchable by material group, material name, property group, property name and independent variables.

http://metalink.binghamton.edu:8331/V/KN18UXH7FH6MK97QUVCQKI6NMY6M5PE9NRHFXBFKRI2UMEAJDT-81307?func=native-link&resource=BNG03980

Posted by ebrown at 10:28 AM

January 10, 2007

ISI Web of Knowledge Updates

Thomson Scientific recently made several upgrades to the ISI Web of Knowledge platfom.

Citation Report: Instantly create formatted reports for any general search of up to 10,000 records. Quickly view vital citation information for an individual or institution, such as sums of citations, average citations per item and year, paper counts, and a quality/quantity indicator, the h index. Graphical summaries displaying paper publication and citation trends. Easy access to all citing items with the ability to remove self-citations and further examine the information using the Analyze Tool. A breakdown of the citation history for each record which can be exported for further analysis.

Authorship Tools
: Quickly locate articles likely written by the same author.

Full Author Names: Eliminates mistaken author identity, which often occurs with the last name-first initial format. Web of Science now captures full author names as they are listed in original records.

author.png

Posted by erushton at 04:45 PM

October 12, 2006

New Health Database

healthwell.jpg

The Libraries now have access to Health and Wellness Resource Centre and Alternative Health Module. This database provides access to alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Easily access 700+ videos from Healthology, Inc.'s consumer health video library.

Posted by erushton at 10:59 AM

September 07, 2006

Upgrades to ISI Web of Knowledge

hdrwos.gif

ISI Web of Knowledge recently updated its interface and introduced several new capabilities including:

Author Finder: distinguish between authors with the same name.

RSS Alerting:: get custom RSS feeds to receive search, citation, and tables of content alerts from ISI Web of Knowledge.

Improved topic search results: get more complete search results. Cast a wider net with the new implied "AND" between search terms.

Click here
to view online demonstrations and training tutorials.

Posted by erushton at 02:38 PM

August 30, 2006

ScienceDirect redesign

ScienceDirect has been redesigned.

A new logo, new fonts and colors are just some of the design changes.

New features include:

Improving the navigation to facilitate seamless browsing through all types of content
Expanding the 'quick search' to all pages to enable users to find full-text content more easily
Creating a customizable homepage which tracks and displays all recent actions
Adding a 'My quick link' feature to help you reach other electronic resources more easily
Improving the way you set-up Personalization features such as alerts and favorites

For more information, see the SD User Guides and Tutorials

From the SD Connect feed

Posted by amcmanus at 09:08 AM

August 14, 2006

INSPEC now available on Engineering Village platform

The INSPEC database was renewed on the Engineering Village search platform earlier this summer. It is the same INSPEC though the interface has changed. The new interface offers many features including faceted searching and also allows you to search Compendex, the major engineering database, at the same time. INSPEC covers physics, electrical engineering, electronics, telecommunications, bioengineering, computers, control technology, information technology, and bioengineering.

Posted by amcmanus at 09:23 AM

August 09, 2006

Science Direct Interface Redesign

sciencedirect.gif

ScienceDirect, one of the world's largest scientific, technical and medical information provider, will soon have a new look and will offer new features. Highlights include:

* Improved personalization such as setting up of alerts and favorites
*New quick search features
*Simplified “browse by subject”
*A customizable homepage tracks and displays all recent actions

Check out the SD Online Tutorial to learn more about the new features and enhancements.

Posted by erushton at 11:12 AM

July 10, 2006

Web of Science Improvements

Thomson Scientific’s ISI Web of Knowledge has two new enhancements:
*Refine your results: allows you to start with a broad search and refine the search in steps, one category at a time. For example, you can refine a search by date, document type and subject area.
*Analyze more data, faster: allows you to analyze 100,000 results at one time.

Posted by erushton at 11:00 AM

April 25, 2006

New Institution formed by the IEE and IIE

The IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) and the IIE (The Institution of Incorporated Engineers) have formed a new institution called the Institution of Engineering and Technology.

As a result, the IEE Review has now ceased publication, the last issue is Volume 52, Number 3, March 2006. IEE Review has been replaced by a new monthly magazine, Engineering & Technology which will be available through IEEE Xplore and the IET Digital Library (formerly known as the IEE Digital Library).

All Conference Publications/Seminar Digests published after March 31, 2006, will be known as IET Conference Publications and IET Seminar Digests.

Posted to ELDNET-L by Michael McCabe, Marketing Manager - Publishing
The Institution of Engineering and Technology

Posted by amcmanus at 01:07 PM

January 31, 2006

Web of Science Improvements

Thomson Scientific has recently added several new features to the ISI Web of Knowledge platform. These include:
* Support of Mozilla and Firefox browsers
* Ability to launch CrossSearch from the "Summary" page
* Access to additional relevant, evaluated Web sites and Web documents from Current Web Contents™ when using CrossSearch
For more information on these and other features click here.

Posted by erushton at 03:55 PM

November 18, 2005

RSS feeds available for IEEE Xplore

As part of yesterday's maintenance release of the IEEE Xplore digital library, RSS feeds for new issues of IEEE journals are now available for all titles.

Feeds are available individually from each journal's main page in IEEE Xplore.

To see one example, visit the Proceedings of the IEEE main page at
http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/RecentIssue.jsp?punumber=5

RSS feeds can also be found through the Table of Contents Alerts service, which continues to offer notification by email.


Posted by John R. Platt, IEEE Business Communications Manager to STS-L listserv.

Posted by amcmanus at 01:27 PM

November 01, 2005

Web of Science Improvements

The following enhancements were recently made to the Web of Science platform:

1. Export, print, save and e-mail records directly from the full record and the summary results page.

2. Use the expanded display of cited references to view full titles and source data, making cited reference searching easier. You can see the full cited reference information, source and full title right on the cited reference page, when available.

3. Search and sort records by publication year.

Posted by erushton at 10:05 AM

October 28, 2005

New database backfiles available

The Science Library has expanded backfile access for two of our databases.

The Engineering Index backfile, with coverage back to 1884, has been added to our Compendex subscription.

Science Citation Index
now goes back to 1983.

Posted by amcmanus at 04:23 PM

October 26, 2005

BIOSIS Now Available on EBSCO

Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS) is now available on the EBSCO platform. Biological Abstracts is a complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database provides users with easy access to the latest information in virtually every life science discipline and contains nearly 7.7 million archival records from as far back as 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year. Please contact Erin Rushton (erushton@binghamton.edu) for additional information or feedback.

Posted by erushton at 08:04 PM

August 30, 2005

Medline via ISI Web of Knowledge

The libraries now have access to Medline via ISI Web of Knowledge. Coverage is from 1950 to the present. Medline is one of the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic databases. Medline contains approximately 13 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.

Access to Medline via ISI Web of Knowledge is available through metaLINK.

Posted by erushton at 01:04 PM

June 28, 2005

New PubMed® Feature: Search Terms Highlighted

Starting soon, terms searched in PubMed® will be highlighted in pale yellow in the Summary, Abstract, and Citation display formats. More here...

Posted by erushton at 12:26 PM