Library News & Exhibits

February 25, 2008

Engineering Village Information Day

Need help finding an article for your research paper?

Event: Engineering Village Information Day
Date: Monday, March 3, 2008
Time: 11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Place: The Knoll-MacDonald Commons, Engineering Building

Engineering Village is a comprehensive research database covering all engineering disciplines. On March 3, BU Librarians and representatives from Elsevier’s Engineering Village will demonstrate how to search for articles and information within the two EV databases: Compendex and INSPEC.

Enter a Raffle to Win i-Tunes Gift Certificates & Get Fun Giveaways, too!

For more information, contact Jill Dixon, Engineering Librarian, at jdixon@binghamton.edu.

Posted by mulligan at 04:18 PM

February 12, 2008

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. The database also contains music in contemporary jazz, world music (including a specific collection of Chinese music), folk music and a small collection of pop and rock. The database offers access to over 250,000 (and growing) tracks of music to the campus community. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database. Tracks in NML are *NOT* downloadable to any device.

The database is available 24/7 to the entire University community via the internet, thus greatly increasing the access to recorded music in the Libraries' collection of vinyl, tape and CD audio recordings.

Try Naxos Music Library.

Posted by mulligan at 02:57 PM

February 05, 2008

New Web of Science Interface

webofscience1.jpg

The next time you open Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge) you may notice something different: a new search interface and design. Here are some highlights…

~ a new tabular search screen that enables you to search across multiple databases and easily access analytical and administrative tools.

~ the option to add more boxes to build your search.

~ new search aids.

~ the ability to analyze and refine searches from the results page.

Interested in finding out more? Click here to access free, web-based training classes on the new design OR contact a librarian at Binghamton University Libraries.

Posted by erushton at 12:35 PM

December 13, 2006

Dissertations & Theses @ Binghamton University

On December 17, 2006, Current Research@Binghamton University will be migrating to a ProQuest platform. As part of this move, Current Research @ Binghamton University will be renamed Dissertations & Theses @ Binghamton University. Dissertations & Theses @ Binghamton University will provide access to Binghamton University dissertations and theses. Titles from the University already in Current Research @ Binghamton University in full-text PDF will be available as free downloads. More information...

Posted by erushton at 09:08 PM

September 06, 2006

Update on Electronic Resources

In addition to the database changes mentioned previously, we are pleased to announce the addition of Factiva, a resource for business and news information. Factiva includes thousands of news sources, among them The Wall Street Journal, as well as company profiles and industry, trade, and other professional journals.

Additional databases have been added as part of the SUNYConnect initiative: ERIC, Film & Television Literature Index, Medline, the Military & Government Collection, and the Professional Development Collection.

Finally, several databases have been renewed on different platforms: EconLit and RILM Abstracts of Music Literature are now available via Ebsco; Philosopher's Index is now available via CSA; and INSPEC is now included in Engineering Village. All three platforms offer extensive searching options, faceted browsing, and the ability to search multiple databases at the same time.

Posted by bordeaux at 01:50 AM

June 30, 2006

Changes to Electronic Resources

The SUNYConnect Advisory Council is thrilled to present new resources to the SUNY community. Beginning July 1, 2006 the following new full-text resources will be available to all SUNYConnect participants:

• Academic Search Premier
• Business Source Premier
• Education Research Complete (available in fall of 2006)
• CINAHL Plus with Full Text
• CINAHL Select
• MasterFILE Premier
• Regional Business News

The SUNYConnect E-Resources collection will no longer include:

• AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive
• Infotrac Onefile
• Expanded Academic ASAP
• Investext Plus

The Binghamton University Libraries have taken this opportunity to weigh the continuation of other databases that duplicate content offered by the SUNYConnect resources in order to further expand the breadth of coverage offered to the campus community. The following databases will no longer be offered beginning July 31, 2006:

• ProQuest Research Library
• ProQuest ABI Inform
• ProQuest National Newspapers

The Libraries will continue to evaluate information needs covered by these databases which are not included in the new suite of SUNYConnect E-Resources collection in order to maintain the high level of content and services that our faculty and students have come to depend on. The Libraries are committed to offering the widest range of databases and information resources for the research and curricular needs of the campus community.


Posted by mulligan at 04:44 PM

May 18, 2006

New Databases Now Available

Thanks to the SUNYConnect initiative, we now have access to the following databases, all via the Ebsco platform. In addition to following the links below, you can find all these titles listed in metaLINK.

Academic Search Premier includes full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications and indexing and abstracting for more than 8,200 journals in nearly every academic field of study.

Business Source Premier is a full text business database covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.

CINAHL, already available, now includes full text.

MasterFILE Premier covers a broad range of topics including general interest, business, health and multi-cultural issues.

Regional Business News provides full text for regional business publications, including those from Crain Communications.

ERIC contains annotated references to educational materials including journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines, and science education resources.

Medline contains authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.

If you have comments about these databases or other resources you would like us to consider, please send us feedback.

Posted by bordeaux at 12:35 PM

March 03, 2006

More Project Muse Journals Now Available

Project Muse logoWe now have access to all Project Muse journals. More than 200 new titles have been added in subjects ranging from History to Literature to Psychology. Complete title list

Posted by bordeaux at 04:18 PM

October 25, 2005

New Databases

The Libraries have recently added several new databases.

American Periodical Series provides access to over 1,100 periodicals that began publishing between 1740 and 1900.

CQ Historic Documents includes more than 2,500 primary sources covering current events around the world from 1972 to the present.

The Engineering Index backfile, with coverage back to 1884, has been added to our Compendex subscription.

Finally, Science Citation Index now goes back to 1983.

In addition to following the above links for access, you can find all these resources listed in metaLINK.

If you have comments about these databases or other resources you would like us to consider, please send us feedback.

Posted by bordeaux at 03:51 PM