Web Searching Strategies
Subject Directories | Search
Engines | Meta-Search Engines | Deep
Web |
Tips for Effective Web Searching | Staying
Current |
Glossary
of Internet and Web Jargon
Subject Directories -- Research Starting Points
What is a Subject Directory?- categorized lists of sites organized by subject
- created, organized, and maintained by a person, not a computer program
- many include a search engine that searches its own database or the Web
When is it best to use a Subject Directory?
- When you have a broad topic and want to learn the aspects of a topic
- When you want recommended, evaluated sites with substantive content
- When you want to browse to see what is out there
- Keep your search terms broad - search for concepts or the discipline of your topic
- About.com - Over 1 million web sites. Uneven quality. Can click on the person's name to determine credentials.
- Google Web Directory - includes sites from the Open Directory Project
- LookSmart
- Yahoo! - UNevaluated web pages mainly commercial and popular for the general public. Good regional coverage.
- Academic Info - Collection of college & university level sites, databases, gateway pages. Good starting point for undergrads.
- Best Information
on the Net
- BUBL Link - UK academic directory
- INFOMINE - Contains 120,000+ annotated research university level sites. Divided into several databases by broad disciplines. Resi
- Internet
Public Library - Good sites for thegeneral public, k-12 and academic levels of research.
- Librarians Index to the Internet - 16,000+ annotated sites selected & evaluated by California academic & public librarians.
- Resource Discovery Network - UK focus
- Scout Report Archives - Academic sites maintained by the University of Wisconsin.
- WWW Virtual Library - Academic scholarly directory created by Tim Berners-Lee. Individual sites maintained by international scholars.
- (SOSIG) Social Science Information
Gateway - subset of the Resource Discovery Network
- Social Sciences
Virtual Library
- Subject-Specific Directories (Binghamton University) - academic level sites selected by BU bibliographers for the academic departments and programs on this campus.
What is a Search Engine?
Search Engine is comprised of 3 parts:
- the computer program (spider, robot, worm) that roams Web looking at thousands of web pages gathering new documents. They detect changes in the pages, look at the links on those pages and download them to their database. The crawl schedule varies across all search engines. Even Google works off many servers and each Google crawler is on a different schedule.
- the database of web pages created by this spider. This is what you are searching - the engine's database, NOT the entire web. Google's database of 4.2+ billion pages is claimed to be the larges database, but it is till much less than 1/2 of the entire web.
- the interface is search engine software that you see and use to type keywords into the database. The engine automated indexer goes through the millions of pages in the database to find matches to your keywords and returns results based on relevancy using a complex mathematical algorithm. Each engine uses a different proprietary algorithm.
Search engines are not all the same
- each uses different algorithm with different results
- each differs in speed, search interface, frequency of updating (how often the spider travels the Web)
Over 2500 search services/search engines
When is it best to use a Search Engine?
- When you have a very specific, narrowly defined topic
- When your topic consists of more than one concept
- When you are looking for a specific web page - organization, company, etc.
Selected Search Engines
- alltheweb - Second behind Google in size. Similar search features of Google - searches 49 different languages, shows related searches. Searches some of the Deep Web.
- Alta-Vista
- Ask Jeeves
- Google - largest database with specialty databases: Google Uncle Sam, Google Scholar, Google Books.
- Teoma - Smaller that Google and Yahoo! Uses Subject-Specifi Popularity ranking. Can REFINE search with suggested terms and find RESEOURCES of directories and links to experts in the field.
No search engine indexes the entire Web
Additional Links:
- Internet Tutorial (UC Berkeley) - Nice collection of web pages and handouts used in their workshops.
- Internet Search Engines (SUNY Albany) - An up to date list of the newer engines and directories and their features.
- Second Generation Searching on the Web (SUNY Albany)
Meta-Search Engines
What is a meta-search engine?
- search engine that simultaneously searches multiple search engines
- Good for obscure topics, but advanced search features are not available
When is it best to use a Meta-Search Engine?
- When you have an obscure, difficult to find topic
- When you are beginning a search on an unfamiliar topic
- When you want a small number of sites
- When you want to search several engines simultaneously
- Dogpile
- ProFusion
- Query Server - breaks results into component parts, sites, domains
- Vivisimo - Uses Clusty software to cluster the results into topics and subtopics
Additional Links: Meta-Search Engines (SUNY Albany)
- content on the Web not visible to standard search engines
- qualitatively different and superior than the surface Web pages
- 500x larger than the surface Web; estimated at 550 billion documents
- password protected sites or those requiring a login
- information stored in proprietary, commercial, legal, medical, and
scientific databases - for example: phone books, patents, laws
- pages that are displayed dynamically - airline flights, job postings,
news, stock prices, auctions, etc.
- government databases - .pdf files
- non-html files - EXCEL, Word, PowerPoint, Flash, Shockwave, compressed
files [.zip, .tar]
- art
and image databases, multi-media [audio, video, music] files [.gif,
.tiff, etc.]
- online catalogs
- pages with frames
- sites behind a firewall - Intranets
- Good directories search the Deep Web - LII,
INFOMINE, SOSIG (Social Science Information Gateway),
- Some search engines already search the Deep Web - Google, alltheweb, ProFusion
Additional Links:
- CompletePlanet - published
a white paper on the scope of the deep Web.
- Searchability - extensive
annotated list of subject databases with background
on what specialized databases are, who should use them, and how to search.
- Subject-Specific
Directories (Binghamton University)
- Virtual
Reference Collection (Binghamton University)
10 Steps to Effective Web Searching
- Analyze your Topic to determine the kind of information you need
- broad topic, specific document, statistics, primary sources, images
- Choose the appropriate
search tool
- Identify key concepts (keywords) and synonyms, related terms, and
spelling variations
- adolescent or adolescents or adolescence or teenager or teenage or teen
- Use Boolean
logic or Search
Engine Math to construct search statements.
- + dogs
- +dogs -cats
- +"anorexia nervosa"
- adolescen* - retrieves adolescent, adolescents, adolescence
- Use field searching - equivalent to Subject Searching in an online
catalog
- URL:holocaust
- title:slavery
- site:nasa.gov
- Enter 2-3 concepts in your search statement - "triangulation"
- Use both a subject directory and a search engine or start with
a meta search engine
- Every search engine has a Basic and an Advanced search screen. Use both
to refine your search. Often the Advanced screen is easier to use. Use the
Help, search tips, and FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions) screens.
- Limit your searches to domain names or type of document especially if
you are interested in the scholarship on a topic. Limit to .edu or
.gov.
- Add or remove terms; truncate the URL from right to left to determine
the source of the information and find other relevant sites.
- HINT: Become proficient with 1 or 2 or 3 search engines.
This is better than being a novice with many.
- Additional Links:
- Finding
Information on the Internet: A TUTORIAL (Teaching Library, California
at Berkeley)
Internet Tutorials (SUNY Albany)
- Finding
Information on the Internet: A TUTORIAL (Teaching Library, California
at Berkeley)
Staying Current with Web Search Tools
The world of the Internet and the World Wide Web is an explosive one. Search tools and Web sites change frequently. Consult the following to stay on top of it all:
- Researchbuzz - from Tara Calishan.
Subscribe to a weekly newsletter
- Resource Shelf - from Gary
Price. Great compilation of news sites, search tips for online searchers.
Subscribe to a weekly online newsletter.
- Scout
Report Subscribe to their weekly newsletter. There are specialized Scout
reports for Business & Economy, Science and Engineering, and the Social
Sciences & Humanities.
- Search Engine Showdown - from
Greg Notess
- Search Engine Watch - from Danny Sullivan. Subscribe to a monthly newsletter.
